URBANO: The Experience

April 2014, Life

Image

UP ACTS Fashion Competition Year 1 happened last year, 2013.. I actually wanted to join the competition but I got caught up with all the stress due tothe last quarter final examinations and the pressure due to being a graduating student. I got a bit bummed because I lost the chance to finally showcase my designs. Eventually, I got over it. Then, they continued to give more opportunities for aspiring fashion designers to shine the following year, 2014. I was sooo thrilled when my cousin told me that UP ACTS will be doing the competition again. So, I immediately picked up my pencil and a piece of paper and just draw anything that pops out of my mind.

(Actually, the contest wasn’t only for the designers but for the models, as well.)

Some details of what happened might be a little fuzzy.

Anyway… On the thinking process of the design, well, my mind went blank. I was just so confused of how I can mix street style with Philippine culture and make it trendy. I had some ideas but I’m not really confident with it. So, I PMed my friends who are so good with clothing and art. I asked them for some suggestions. I asked them if my idea was ok or something. I showed them the illustrations I did. (Oh, btw, we had to come up with two original designs. We can choose if we want a guy and a girl, 2 girls or 2 boys) Until, finally, we came up with something okay or good or idk. I submitted all the requirements and paid the fee.

Image

Image

(I still think it’s ugly though)

The org sent me the measurements of my first model. I went to Dressmaker and paid her to do the first outfit. I gave her the cloth and the measurements. Outfit’s done two to three days after just before the photo shoot.

(Saturday) The day of the photo shoot finally came. I entered the UP DIliman Campus confidently but faced UP ACTS people shyly. Wow. You should have seen me (no way). I was so awkward and silent. When I saw them, I didn’t even offer a handshake. How unfriendly of me. (woah I just had a sudden realization. UP Diliman brings out the worse in me lol :)) First was the college entrance exams (looooong story) and now this wow lol haha!!) Selina ( my model ) was already there when I went in the UP ACTS tambayan (looks like a small hut). The HMUA was preparing her for the shoot. Then, when she tried on the outfit…. it. didn’t. freaking. fit. her. I. freaking. panicked. awkwardly. Good thing there’s another model present at the shoot that I can borrow. It fit her perfectly. I was actually the last designer for the shoot. The other designers did theirs in the morning. I did mine in the afternoon. The shoot was over. (yay it’s a wrap) (ok) (i just had to say that) (or type that. whatevs)

Image

The org sent the next model’s measurements and posted the photos up for online voting on their Facebook page. I went to a different dressmaker because I don’t want the outfit to not fit the model again. Outfit’s done just before the day of the competition. The result of the outfit was not what I expected. I asked the dressmaker to alter it. The new result was okay, i guess, but i’m still not feeling confident with the outfit.

MARCH EIGHT TWENTYFOURTEEN befsaIO&yenwbudyiayoi THE DAY fkwenihowelgejhrjj OF THE gbfuesfioaefh COMPETITION hfsunihfrbawo

 Image

I can’t remember what exactly happened. I’ll just show you some photos.

Oh, I met Rion and Nicole, the other two designers. They’re really friendly and fun. I didn’t get a chance to know more about the other designer, Camille, because she’s with her brother (i assume) most of the time. I also met the models. They’re all amazing and nice. I’m amused because the other designers (and models)  weren’t hating on each other because we’re in a competition. Instead, we helped and congratulated each other.

ImageImage

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE COOKIES. IT GIVES ME THE HEARTS EVERYWHERE FEELING. UHM, WELL, COOKIES AND PIZZAS GIVE ME THAT FEELING

(CAPS LOCK =  HIGH INTENSITY) (HAHAHHAHA)

Image

The program finally started after hours and hours of waiting.

Bands performed in between ramps of models. The models did not only model our designs but also some designs of former Clothing technology students at UP Diliman.

Image

Image

My favorite band that night was First Light. Oh my God. (oki ang arti HAHHA) They’re amazing. You, guys, should listen to them. The instruments were so clear. The voices are wow. Music to my ears. lol.

Image

(click the photo below to be redirected to one of their covers)

Image

And then… when another band was playing…. One of the UP ACTS (um) crew members called the designers to go to the backstage. Um it is sort of a backstage.

The hosts introduced the designers. They gave each’s interpretation of their designs.

The first models who walked the runway were Nicole’s. Rion’s models were next. Camille’s models came out third. Mine came out the last. Mi models werking it. yeah.

I PANICKED. I FELT MY HEART BEAT FASTER AND FASTER.

I AWKWARDLY WALKED TOWARDS MY MODELS WHEN THEY WERE ALREADY IN FRONT OF THE JUDGES.

I AWKWARDLY SMILED FOR CAMERAS.

Image

I AWKWARDLY POSED WITH MY MODELS.

Image

I AWKWARDLY WALKED BACK.

AND I AWKWARDLY JUMPED UP AND DOWN (I WAS STILL AT THE “BUNGAD” PEOPLE CAN STILL SEE ME) OUT OF NOWHERE OUT OF PANIC AND EXCITEMENT.

HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA

I WILL NEVER RUN OUT OF AWKWARD SITUATIONS.

I HUMILIATED MYSELF ONCE AGAIN.

WOW BEA. YOU ARE TRULY AMAZING (NOT)
HAHAHAHA

Remembering what I did at the last part, makes me laugh :)))

Oh, well.. What’s done is done.

After that… Another collection of designs were shown.

Image

Image

Another band played. They’re called SALI (?) not sure. The singer’s amazing, too. She’s full of energy. She put up a great show. She’s actually like Hayley Williams and she sang “Still in to you by Paramore.” Woah.

Image

My sister was with me the whole time. Thank you mehehe

Image

The hosts thanked the judges for, well, judging. Then, they called on the models so that they can announce the winner and give out the certificates.

( The second girl from the right won. Congrats! 😀 )

Image

Then, they called the designers. (That’s us omg) Camille left right away. Sayang. She was the winner of the competition.

Image

Image

Image

It’s obvious in the last photo that I was really happy because of the entire experience. I met new people and learned a lot of things. Well, one is that I say or type AMAZING in most of my sentences to describe something or anything. I also learned to communicate with other people. The secret is to just have the guts to come up to them and say hi. I realized that I created the most embarrassing but surely memorable moments at UP, my dream school. I am looking forward for more humiliating memories in the future. (when I finally study in UP *fingers crossed*). Oh, and one more thing… I sacrificed a lot of money from my own allowance for the whole experience, but I do think it’s all worth it.

(BTW, ALMOST ALL PHOTOS ARE NOT MINE. (c) UP ACTS)

So, yeah.. I think that’s it.

-xoxo, BEA

Leave a Reply

